Great American Beer Festival

December 8th, 2011
!/system/artwork/0000/0329/GABF_08.jpg! The Great American Beer Festival is an annual beer competition in which brewers across the U.S. enter their beers into style categories with the hope of taking home Gold, Silver, & Bronze medals that are recognized around the world as symbols of brewing excellence. The festival’s Professional Judge Panel is comprised of beer connoisseurs from around the world who are assigned beers to evaluate in their specific areas of expertise. This year there were 127 judges from 11 countries who judged in the competition. The awards represent excellence, therefore if the panel doesn’t believe there is a beer in the category that meets the quality and style-accuracy exactly, they may elect to not award the top medal- even if there are silver and bronze medals awarded. In addition to the competition, industry professionals from around the world come to sample the beers entered in each of the 75 style categories. Tasting sessions allow attendants to sit together in small groups and taste beers to better educate and experience the different brewing styles and techniques. Each year the GABF grows in popularity and attendance, Denver just held the largest competition to date with over 2,000 beers at the festival, 432 breweries, 46,000 attendees, and 222 beers that were awarded medals. These are a few of our favorites that were named 2008 GABF Winners: !/system/artwork/0000/0323/KL.jpg!:http://destinationbeer.com/beers/keystone-light !/system/artwork/0000/0319/6th.jpg!:http://destinationbeer.com/beers/boulevard-sixth-glass !/system/artwork/0000/0321/BMHM.jpg!:http://destinationbeer.com/beers/blue-moon-honey-moon h2. Bronze: A fine example of the style that may vary slightly from style parameters and/or have minor deviations in taste, aroma and appearance. Specialty Honey : Blue Moon Honey Moon:http://destinationbeer.com/beers/blue-moon-honey-moon Belgian-Style Abbey Ale : Boulevard Sixth Glass:http://destinationbeer.com/beers/boulevard-sixth-glass American-Style Light Lager : Keystone Light:http://destinationbeer.com/beers/keystone-light h2. Silver: An excellent beer that may vary slightly from style parameters while maintaining close adherence to the style and displaying excellent taste, aroma and appearance. American-Style Light Lager : Old Milwaukee Light:http://destinationbeer.com/beers/old-milwaukee-light h2. Gold: A world-class beer that accurately exemplifies the specified style, displaying the proper balance of taste, aroma and appearance. Session Beer : Boulevard Unfiltered Wheat:http://destinationbeer.com/beers/boulevard-unfiltered-wheat American-Style Light Lager : Coors Light:http://destinationbeer.com/beers/coors-light American-Style Cream : Lone Star:http://destinationbeer.com/beers/lone-star-beer Belgian-Style Witbier : New Belgium Mothership Wit:http://destinationbeer.com/beers/new-belgium-mothership-wit !/system/artwork/0000/0309/NB_Mothership_Wit.jpg!:http://destinationbeer.com/beers/new-belgium-mothership-wit !/system/artwork/0000/0305/Lone_Star_Beer.jpg!:http://destinationbeer.com/beers/lone-star-beer !/system/artwork/0000/0301/Winners.gif! !/system/artwork/0000/0307/coors-light.jpg!:http://destinationbeer.com/beers/coors-light !/system/artwork/0000/0303/Boulevard_Unfiltered_Wheat_.jpg!:http://destinationbeer.com/beers/boulevard-unfiltered-wheat